Derby 1967 – add’l Info

Bob was a huge sports fan. (Recall the GA vs. Michigan football game story.) I do not recall how this came about, but somehow I found myself writing Mom & Pops to see if they still had access to any Derby tickets.

As an aside, when growing up, we were allowed to take a day off from school during both the spring and fall “meets” at Churchill Downs. Our parents felt there were many important things to learn that were not taught in school. We were not allowed to place our own bets until we were tall enough to stand at the window and fast enough to place a bet, verify the ticket and count our change without holding up the line. The tall enough part for my sister was easy, she was tall like our Mom; I was short like all the Sparks were for generations. So, it took me a few years longer to arrive at this opportunity.

I had only been to Derby a couple of times, but the Derby Trials were on Tuesday for the “wannabees”. So, that is the day we usually went to the track in the spring. Once I did Derby with a friend and we were in the infield. Once was enough for that experience. There were so many people, standing was the only option. And, again, being short, I couldn’t see anything. Once, I went and the seats were in the grandstand. Not much better that the infield, except you could sit on bleachers. I am quite sure all of that has changed over the years – they don’t really show those areas on TV.

At any rate, Pops found 2 seats in a box, belonging to a friend of a friend. So, suddenly, Bob and I were going to Louisville for a weekend, including Derby. Derby is the first Saturday in May. I was well into my bank project and was a little concerned about taking a day off, but Bob was so excited. And, as he pointed out, he wanted to meet my parents. Oh, dear, I thought. We had been dating for a year and a half (including the “break-up” for 6 weeks), and people did ask questions about our future. However, I had NO interest in getting married….to anyone, any time soon. Still, my folks were excited that we were coming for a visit, though short.

Now, I had to have an outfit! One does not attend Derby in ordinary clothes, even then. So I managed to make a pink linen suit (I was making fairly good money, but not so much that I could buy an expensive outfit), using a pattern that was easy and fit well. Then, I splurged on two-tone, pink kid “sling-back” shoes and a pink wide-brimmed hat to which I added flowers and ribbon. As it turned out, Bob went shopping as well to buy a brown and cream striped sport coat, brown dress slacks and brown slip-on shoes. IBM was very strict about attire (there is an early post about women’s clothes) – white shirts, suits and 10-pound wingtip shoes (Bob added the 10-pound part, as he said they were sooo much heavier than any other men’s shoes.)

Meanwhile, my sister informed Mom, Pops and me that her husband’s boss and his wife, Paul and lain Jaffe, (the lower case “L” is how she spelled her name) were attending Derby, ’67 as well. So, now a party was happening. Paul and lain would have dinner at “108” after Derby. Mom would do her famous Meatballs and Spaghetti and homemade Strawberry Shortcake for dessert.

We arrived in Louisville late afternoon on Friday. Bob brought Mom Julia Child’s The Art of French Cooking, making certain that she opened her gift before he ate her food. Mom’s Vichyssoise came from that cookbook, as did her homemade Mayonnaise. As I think about it, I don’t think anyone had ever given her a cookbook before.

Pops gave Bob some instructions about Churchill Downs, parking, etc. The final note was “if Nancy ilkes a horse, make sure you put money on it”. Duly noted by Bob!

Off to Churchill Downs mid-morning. In those days, Derby was the 7th race and ran promptly at 4:30. TV has changed that over the years.

Sadly, it was overcast with drizzle, but that never stops anything or anyone or any horse. As we got in the car, Pops handed an umbrella to Bob. I was thinking that rain was going to ruin my expensive pink kid shoes! After much ado, and time, Bob’s silver ’65 GTO was parked and we found our box. Barely settled and introduced to the box owners, it was time to start looking at the program, placing some bets and deciding when to take Bob on a tour, as the drizzle increased.

The details are lost in time, but I do remember that we were headed to the Paddock, timed to watch the Derby horses and jockeys arrive. That was always exciting to me. Suddenly, I looked out from under the umbrella to see one of my sister’s good friends, Whitty, (he taught me how to “jitterbug”). Of course, just like Nelson, Lindy’s friends had not seen me since she moved to Memphis in 1959. What a surprise to meet them as a “grown-up”! We chatted for a few minutes, then I was suddenly aware of time and knew we needed to get back to our seats for singing “My Old Kentucky Home”. As we back, I saw Proud Clarion. What a gorgeous horse! I said “there’s the winner”. Bob immediately said, “I have to buy another ticket, I promised your Dad!” “No, there isn’t time”, I replied. We hurried (not easy to do) back to our seats as Bob was muttering! Proud Clarion did win.

Read: “https://www.horseracingnation.com/blogs/Trackside/Flashback_1967_Kentucky_Derby_123

Despite the rain, it was a glorious and fun day. Bob loved every minute and even with the rain, he was thrilled. My hat and shoes were ruined – there was a permanent water line on the shoes. So in to the “donate” box they went. Oh, well…..

We “hooked up” with lain and Paul at some point. She was wearing a marvelous, wide brimmed hat, that was now covering her ears! Another casualty of the rain. But, they were also having a marvelous time! They had not believed me when I said that Mint Juleps were carried around in metal carriers, like soft drinks at a ballgame. (Well, at least that was how drinks were available to fans when I was growing up.)

Ultimately we were back at 108 for dinner and we sat around the table sharing stories until midnight. I believe that is the last time I ever saw them – having first met them when Paul made Bobby Ruffin a partner of Paul Jaffe Interiors in 1964.

Leave a comment